STATE OF DELAWARE
STATE COUNCIL FOR PERSONS WITH DISABILITIES

MARGARET M. O’NEILL BUILDING
410 FEDERAL STREET, SUITE 1 VoIcE: (302) 739-3620

DovER, DE 19901 TTY/TDD: (302) 739-3699
Fax: (302) 739-6704

June 4, 2014

The Honorable Jack Markell
Tatnall Building - 2nd Floor
William Penn Street

Dover, DE 19901

RE: H.B 241 [Ban Sales and Distribution of E-Cigarettes to Minors]

Dear Governor Markell:

The State Council for Persons with Disabilities (SCPD) has reviewed H.B. 241 which would ban
sales and distribution of e-cigarettes to minors. It would also ban minors from purchasing or
attempting to purchase e-cigarettes. Minors who violate the law could be fined $50 or ordered to
perform 25 hours of community service for a first offense. SCPD realizes that the proposed
legislation has passed both the House and Senate, but wanted to provide the following observations.

Background is provided in the preamble to the legislation and the attached excerpt from the April 25
issue of the House Minority Caucus Newsletter. Use of electronic cigarettes among middle and
high school students is increasing at an alarming rate. For example, the percentage of such students
using e-cigarettes doubled between 2011 and 2012. The e-cigarettes contain nicotine which is
highly addictive. In September, 2013, forty-one (41) Attorneys General asked the FDA to regulate
e-cigarettes. In April, 2014, the FDA decided to regulate e-cigarettes but the process to adopt
federal regulations could be extended. See attached Associated Press article. In the meantime, at
least twenty-seven (27) states have banned sales of e-ci garettes to minors.

SCPD endorses the proposed legislation. Council’s only concern is that the bill (lines 55-59) uses
the term “tobacco substitute” to cover e-cigarettes. The definition excludes devices approved by
the FDA for tobacco cessation or other medical purposes. As aresult, even very limited FDA
approval of the devices as a transitional smoking cessation product would effectively render the
Delaware law meaningless. Vendors could sell and minors could buy e-cigarettes since they would
not meet the definition of a “tobacco substitute”. Some states have adopted definitions of “e-
cigarettes™ without the FDA reference. See. e.g., the attached enacted N.J. legislation. Other
states include an FDA exemption. See, e.g., the attached recently enacted Kentucky legislation.
The sponsors may wish to consider whether the FDA exemption could be deleted or modified.



Thank you for your consideration and please contact SCPD if you have any questions regarding
our position or observations on the proposed legislation.

Sincerely,

Daniese McMullin-Powell, Chairperson
State Council for Persons with Disabilities

cc: Mr. Brian Hartman, Esq.
Governor’s Advisory Council for Exceptional Citizens

Developmental Disabilities Council
HB 241 electronic cigarettes and minors 6-4-14
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One popular e-cigarette starter kit.

NEWS:
Bill to Ban Sale of e-cigarettes to
Minors Will Move Ahead Despite
Federal Action

A Delaware bill seeking to ban the sale of e-cigarettes to
minors will move forward, despite action announced by the
U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA) yesterday that
seeks the same goal.

An e-cigarette is a battery-powered device that converts
liquid nicotine into a vapor that can be inhaled. Because the
devices do not create second-hand smoke and do not
contain some of the harmful chemicals associated with
smoking tobacco, they are sometimes marketed as a
healthier alternative to smoking.

The FDA proposed rule would extend the agency's tobacco
authority over products including e-cigarettes, cigars, pipe
tobacco, nicotine gels, and waterpipes.

Under federal law, this merchandise
meets the statutory definition of "tobacco
product.”

Among other things, the rule change
: would prohibit the sale and distribution of
State Rep. e-cigarettes to minors.
Deborah Hudson
State Rep. Deborah Hudson, R-Fairthorne, said the FDA
proposal will do nothing to alter plans to pass a bipartisan
bill she is sponsoring with the same objective. House Bill
241 -- also sponsored by State Sen. Patricia Blevins, D-




Elsmere -- cleared the House April 10th on a unanimous
vote.

The bill has not yet been assigned to a Senate committee.

"l support the FDA's decision, but | still want our bill to
become law," Rep. Hudson said. "It could take many
months, or longer, for the FDA to finalize and promulgate
their regulations. At least 27 other states have already
banned the sale of e-cigarettes to minors and [ do not see
any reason for us to wait for the federal government."

Rep. Hudson added that enacting the bill will clarify that
state officials have the authority and jurisdiction to enforce

the prohibition.

The FDA action was not unexpected. The agency has
expressed concerns about the possible health implications
of e-cigarette use for many years. Agency officials say
consumers currently have no way of knowing whether e-
cigarettes are safe for their intended use; how much nicotine
or other potentially harmful chemicals are being inhaled by
users; and if there are any benefits associated with using the

products.

Last September, 41 attorneys general - including
Delaware's Beau Biden -- urged the FDA to test and

regulate e-cigarettes.

Trepidation regarding e-cigarettes has grown with their
usage and amid increasing evidence they are being
aggressively marketed to minors and young adults.

The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention reported
that the percentage of U.S. high school and middle school
students using e-cigarettes doubled between 2011 and
2012. The National Youth Tobacco Survey revealed that
approximately 1.8 million young people tried e-cigarettes in
2012.

Some companies sell the vapor device with flavors of liquid
nicotine in the cartridge including cotton candy, bubble gum
and Fruit Loops.

Forward email

| Privacy Policy.
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FDA proposes ban on e-cigarette sales to
minors

Associated Press

Posted on April 24, 2014 at 9:06 AM

Updated Thursday, Apr 24 at 12:28 PM

WASHINGTON (AP) -- The U.S. government wants to ban sales of electronic
cigarettes to minors and require approval for new products and health warning
Iabels under regulations being proposed by the federal Food and Drug
Administration.

‘While the proposal being issued Thursday won't immediately mean changes for the
popular devices, the move is aimed at eventually taming the fast-growing
e-cigarette industry. '

http:/f'www.wvec.com/home/FDA-proposes-ban-on-e-cigarettes-sales-to-minors-256520311... 5/5/2014
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The industry started on the Internet and at shopping-mall kiosks and has rocketed
from thousands of users in 2006 to several million worldwide who can choose from
more than 200 brands. Sales are estimated to have reached nearly $2 billion in
2013. Tobacco company executives have noted that they are eating into traditional
cigarette sales, and their companies have jumped into the business.

The agency said the proposal sets a foundation for regulating the products but the
rules don't immediately ban the wide array of flavors of e-cigarettes, curb
marketing on places like TV or set product standards.

Any further rules "will have to be grounded in our growing body of knowledge and
understanding about the use of e-cigarettes and their potential health risks or
public health benefits,” Commissioner Dr. Margaret Hamburg said.

Once finalized, the agency could propose more restrictions on e-cigarettes. Officials
didn't provide a timetable for that action.

Members of Congress and public health groups have raised concerns over
e-cigarettes and questioned their marketing tactics.

"When finalized (the proposal) would result in significant public health benefits,
including through reducing sales to youth, helping to correct consumer
misperceptions, preventing misleading health claims and preventing new products
from entering the market without scientific review by FDA," said Mitch Zeller, the
director of the FDA's Center for Tobacco Products.

The FDA said the public, members of the industry and others will have 75 days to
comment on the proposal. The agency will evaluate those comments before issuing
a final rule but there's no timetable for when that will happen. The regulations will
be a step in a long process that many believe will ultimately end up being

challenged in court.

E-cigarettes are plastic or metal tubes, usually the size of a cigarette, that heat a
liquid nicotine solution instead of burning tobacco. That creates vapor that users

inhale.

Smokers like e-cigarettes because the nicotine-infused vapor looks like smoke but
doesn't contain the thousands of chemicals, tar or odor of regular cigarettes. Some
smokers use e-cigarettes as a way to quit smoking tobacco or to cut down. However,
there's not much scientific evidence showing e-cigarettes help smokers quit or
smoke less, and it's unclear how safe they are. :

http://www.wvec.com/home/FDA-proposes-ban-on-e-cigarettes-sales-to-minors-256520311... 5/5/2014
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Some believe lightly regulating electronic cigarettes might actually be better for
public health overall, if smokers switch and e-cigarettes really are safer. Others are
raising alarms about the hazards of the products and a litany of questions about
whether e-cigarettes will keep smokers addicted or encourage others to start using
e-cigarettes, and even eventually tobacco products.

' "Right now for something like e-cigarettes, there are far more questions than
answers," Zeller said, adding that the agency is conducting research to better
understand the safety of the devices and who is using them.

In addition to prohibiting sales to minors and requiring health labels that warn
users that nicotine is an addictive chemical, e-cigarette makers also would be
required to register their products with the agency and disclese ingredients. They
also would not be allowed to claim their products are safer than other tobacco

products.

They also couldn't use words such as "light” or "mild" to describe their produects,
give out free samples or sell their products in vending machines unless they arein a

place open only to adults, such as a bar.

Companies also will be required to submit applications for premarket review within
two years. As long as an e-cigarette maker has submitted the application, the FDA
said it will allow the products to stay on the market while they are being reviewed.
That would mean companies would have to submit an application for all

e-cigarettes now being sold.

AP-WF-04-24-14 1252GMT

hitp://www.wvec.com/home/FDA-proposes-ban-on-e-cigarettes-sales-to-minors-256520311... 5/5/2014
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ASSEMBLY, Nos. 4227 and 4228

STATE OF NEW JERSEY
213th LEGISLATURE

ADOPTED NOVEMBER 23, 2009

Sponsored by:
Assemblywoman CONNIE WAGNER
District 38 (Bergen)

Assemblywoman NANCY F. MUNOZ
District 21 (Essex, Morris, Somerset and Union)
Assemblywoman JOAN M. VOSS

District 38 (Bergen)

Assemblyman PAUL D. MORIARTY
District 4 (Camden and Gloucester)
Assemblywoman MARY PAT ANGELINI
District 11 (Monmouth)

Assemblywoman LINDA STENDER
District 22 (Middlesex, Somerset and Union)

Co-Sponsored by:
Assemblywomen Greenstein, Evans, Semators Gordom, Vitale, Codey,

Sarlo and Whelan

SYNOPSIS
Prohibits use of electronic smoking devices in indoor public places and sale

to minors.

CURRENT VERSION OF TEXT
Substitute as adopted by the Assembly Health and Senior Services

Committee,
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AN ACT concerning electronic smoking devices and amending
P.1.2005, ¢.383, P.L.2000, ¢.87, and P.L.1999, ¢.90.

BE IT ENACTED by the Senate and General Assembly of the State
of New Jersey:

1. Section 2 of P.L.2005, ¢.383 (C.26:3D-56) is amended to
read as follows:

2. The Legislature finds and declares that: [tobacco]

a. Tobacco is the leading cause of preventable disease and

death in the State and the nation[, and tobacco];
b. Tobacco smoke constitutes a substantial health hazard to the

nonsmoking majority of the public; [the]

c. _Electronic smoking devices have not been approved as to
safety and efficacy by the federal Food and Drug Administration,

and their use may pose a health risk to persons exposed to their
smoke or vapor because of a known irritant contained therein and
other substances that may, upon evaluation by that agency, be
identified as potentially toxic to those inhaling the smoke or vapor:

d. _The separation of smoking and nonsmoking areas in indoor
public places and workplaces does not eliminate the hazard to
nonsmokers if these areas share a common ventilation system; and
[, therefore]

e. Therefore, subject to certain specified exceptions, it is
clearly in the public interest to prohibit the smoking of tobacco
products and the use of electronic smoking devices in all enclosed
indoor places of public access and workplaces.

(cf: P.L.2005, ¢.383,5.2)

2. Section 3 of P.L.2005, ¢.383 (C.26:3D-57) is amended to

read as follows:

3. Asused in this act:

"Bar" means a business establishment or any portion of a
nonprofit entity, which is devoted to the selling and serving of
alcoholic beverages for consumption by the public, guests, patrons
or members on the premises and in which the serving of food, if
served at all, is only incidental to the sale or consumption of such
beverages.

"Cigar bar" means any bar, or area within a bar, designated
specifically for the smoking of tobacco products, purchased on the
premises or elsewhere; except that a cigar bar that is in an area
within a bar shall be an area enclosed by solid walls or windows, a
ceiling and a solid door and equipped with a ventilation system
which is separately exhausted from the nonsmoking areas of the bar
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so that air from the smoking area is not recirculated to the
nonsmoking areas and smoke is not backstreamed into the
nonsmoking areas.

"Cigar lounge" means any establishment, or area within an
establishment, designated specifically for the smoking of tobacco
products, purchased on the premises or elsewhere; except that a
cigar lounge that is in an area within an establishment shall be an
area enclosed by solid walls or windows, a ceiling and a solid door
and equipped with a ventilation system which is separately
exhausted from the nonsmoking areas of the establishment so that
air from the smoking area is not recirculated to the nonsmoking
areas and smoke is not backstreamed into the nonsmoking areas.

“Blectronic smoking device” means an electronic device that can

be used to deliver nicotine or other substances to the person

inhaling from the device, including. but not limited to. an electronic

cigarette, cigar, cigarillo. or pipe.

"Indoor public place" means a structurally enclosed place of
business, commerce or other service-related activity, whether
publicly or privately owned or operated on a for-profit or nonprofit
basis, which is generally accessible to the public, including, but not
limited to: a commercial or other office building; office or building
owned, leased or rented by the State or by a county or municipal
government; public and nonpublic elementary or secondary school
building; board of education building; theater or concert hall; public
library; museum or art gallery; bar; restaurant or other
establishment where the principal business is-the sale of food for
consumption on the premises, including the bar area of the
establishment; garage or parking facility; any public conveyance
operated on land or water, or in the air, and passenger waiting
rooms and platform areas in any stations or terminals thereof; health
care facility licensed pursuant to P.L.1971, c.136 (C.26:2H-1 et
seq.); patient waiting room of the office of a health care provider
licensed pursuant to Title 45 of the Revised Statutes; child care
center licensed pursuant to P.L.1983, ¢.492 (C.30:5B-1 et seq.);
race track facility; facility used for the holding of sporting events;
ambulatory recreational facility; shopping mall or retail store; hotel,
motel or other lodging establishment; apartment building lobby or
other public area in an otherwise private building; or a passenger
elevator in a building other than a single-family dwelling..

"Person having control of an indoor public place or workplace"
means the owner or operator of a commercial or other office
building or other indoor public place from whom a workplace or
space within the building or indoor public place is leased.

"Smoking" means the burning of, inhaling from, exhaling the
smoke from, or the possession of a lighted cigar, cigarette, pipe or
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matter that can be smoked, or the inhaling or exhaling of smoke or
vapor from an electronic smoking device.

"Tobacco retail establishment" means an establishment in which
at least 51% of retail business is the sale of tobacco products and
accessories, and in which the sale of other products is merely
incidental.

"Workplace" means a structurally enclosed location or portion
thereof at which a person performs any type of service or labor.

(cf: P.L.2005, ¢.383, 5.3)

3. Section 1 of P.L.2000, c.87 (C.2A:170-51.4) is amended to
read as follows:

1. a. No person, either directly or indirectly by an agent or
employee, or by a vending machine owned by the person or located
in the person's establishment, shall sell, offer for sale, distribute for
commercial purpose at no cost or minimal cost or with coupons or
rebate offers, give or furnish, to a person under 19 years of age[,]:

(1) any cigarettes made of tobacco or of any other matter or
substance which can be smoked, or any cigarette paper or tobacco

in any form, including smokeless tobacco; or
(2)_any electronic smoking device that can be used to deliver

nicotine or other substances to the person inhaling from the device,

including, but not limited to, an electronic cigarette, cigar, cigarillo,

or pipe. or any cartridge or otheér component of the device or related

product,
b. The establishment of all of the following shall constitute a

defense to any prosecution brought pursuant to subsection a. of this

section:
(1) that the purchaser of the tobacco product or electronic

smoking device or the recipient of the promotional sample falsely
represented, by producing either a driver's license or non-driver
identification card issued by the New Jersey Motor Vehicle
Commission, a similar card issued pursuant to the laws of another
state or the federal government of Canada, or a photographic
identification card issued by a county clerk, that the purchaser or
recipient was of legal age to make the purchase or receive the
sample;

(2) that the appearance of the purchaser of the tobacco product
or electronic smoking device or the recipient of the promotional
sample was such that an ordinary prudent person would believe the
purchaser or recipient to be of legal age to make the purchase or
receive the sample; and

(3) that the sale or distribution of the tobacco product or
electronic smoking device was made in good faith, relying upon the
production of the identification set forth in paragraph (1) of this
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reasonable belief that the purchaser or recipient was of legal age to
make the purchase or receive the sample.

¢. A person who violates the provisions of subsection a. of this
section, including an employee of a retail dealer licensee under
P.L.1948, ¢.65 (C.54:40A-1 et seq.) who actually sells or otherwise
provides a tobacco product to a person under 19 years of age, shall
be liable to a civil penalty of not less than $250 for the first
violation, not less than $500 for the second violatjon, and $1,000
for the third and each subsequent violation. The civil penalty shall
be collected pursuant to the "Penalty Enforcement Law of 1999,"
P.L.1999, ¢.274 (C.2A:58-10 et seq.), in a summary proceeding
before the municipal court having jurisdiction. An official
authorized by statute or ordinance to enforce the State or local
health codes or a law enforcement officer having enforcement
authority in that municipality may issue a summons for a violation
of the provisions of subsection a. of this section, and may serve and
execute all process with respect to the enforcement of this section
consistent with the Rules of Court. A penalty recovered under the
provisions of this subsection shall be recovered by and in the name
of the State by the local health agency. The penalty shall be paid
into the treasury of the municipality in which the violation occurred
for the general uses of the municipality.

d. In addition to the provisions of subsection c. of this section,
upon the recommendation of the municipality, following a hearing
by the municipality, the Division of Taxation in the Department of
the Treasury may suspend or, after a second or subsequent violation
of the provisions of subsection a. of this section, revoke the license
issued under section 202 of P.L.1948, c. 65 (C.54:40A-4) of a retail
dealer. The licensee shall be subject to administrative charges,
based on a schedule issued by the Director of the Division of
Taxation, which may provide for a monectary penalty in lieu of a
suspension.

e. A penalty imposed pursuant to this section shall be in
addition to any penalty that may be imposed pursuant to section 3
of P.L.1999, c. 90 (C.2C:33-13.1).

(cf: P.L.2005, c.384, 5.1)

4. Section 3 of P.L.1999, ¢.90 (C.2C:33-13.1) is amended to
read as follows:

3. a. A person who sells or gives to a person under 19 years of
age any cigareties made of tobacco or of any other matter or
substance which can be smoked, or any cigarette paper or tobacco
m any form, including smokeless tobacco, or any electronic
smoking device that can-be used to deliver nicotine or other
substances to the person inhaling from the device. including. but not
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including an employee of a retail dealer licensee under P.L.1948,
.65 (C.54:40A-1 et seq.) who actually sells or otherwise provides a
tobacco product or electronic smoking device to a person under 19
years of age, shall be punished by a fine as provided for a petty
disorderly persoms offense. A person who has been previously
punished under this section and who commits another offense under
it may be punishable by a fine of twice that provided for a petty
disorderly persons offense.

b. The establishment of all of the following shall constitute a
defense to any prosecution brought pursuant to subsection a. of this
section: _

(1) that the purchaser or recipient of the tobacco product or
electronic smoking device falsely represented, by producing either a
driver's license or non-driver identification card issued by the New
Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission, a similar card issued pursuant to
the laws of another state or the federal government of Canada, or a
photographic identification card issued by a county clerk, that the
purchaser or recipient was of legal age to purchase or receive the

tobacco product ot electronic smoking device;

(2) that the appearance of the purchaser or recipient of the
tobacco product or electronic smoking device was such that an
ordinary prudent person would believe the purchaser or recipient to
be of legal age to purchase or receive the tobacco product or

electronic smoking device; and
. (3) that the sale or distribution of the tobacco product or

electronic smoking device was made in good faith, relying upon the
production of the identification set forth in paragraph (1) of this
subsection, the appearance of the purchaser or recipient, and in the
reasonable belief that the purchaser or recipient was of legal age to
purchase or receive the tobacco product or electronic smoking

device.
c. A penalty imposed pursuant to this section shall be in

addition to any penalty that may be imposed pursuant to section 1
of P.L.2000, c.87 (C.2A:170-51.4).
(cf: P.L.2005, c.384, 5.5)

5. Sections 1 and 2 of this act shall take effect on the 180th day
after enactment, but the Commissioner of Health and Senior
Services may take such anticipatory administrative action in
advance thereof as shall be necessary for the implementation of
those sections. Sections 3 and 4 of this act shall take effect on the

60th day after enactment.
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Bill banning sale of e-cigarettes to kids signed into law

April 15, 2014
Prohibits sales of all types of e-cigarettes to minors, regardless of whether devices use nicotine

Prohibits sales of all types of e-cigarettes to minors, regardless of whether devices use nicotine

FRANKFORT, Ky. (Apil 15, 2014) ~ Calling the measure a big win for efforts to reduce tobaceo use in the state and particularly among young people, Gov. Steve Beshear on

Menday signed Senate Bill 109 into law, banning the sale of all types of e-clgarettes to minors.

The governor specifically urged leglslators to pass this bill during his State of the Commonwealth in January, and identified this
eflorl as a key part of hls legislative agenda.

“We have the higheslt rates of youth smoking in the country,” Beshear said. “And we know that if we can keep our children from
trying cigarettes — including e-cigarettes ~ before the age of 18, they are significantly less likely ta become smokers later in life. |
commend the General Assembly for passing this important bil.”

SB108 prohiblis the sales of alf types of e-cigareties to minors, regardiess of whether the devices use nicotine. Food and Drug

Administration lesting has found that a number of e-cigarsttes sold as “nicotine-free” actually contained the drug, and the largely
unregulated nalure of e-cigaretie producis al present creales enforcement issues around youth access for slale agencies,

relallers, school dislricts and parents,

The effects of SB109 are especially imporiant now. Between 2011 and 2012. the percentage of all youth in grades 6 1o 12 who
had tried e-cigaretles doubled, with e-cigarettes being increasingly marketed to minors. The vast majority of youth who have
used e-cigarettes have &lso smoked conveniianal cigareties.

“Prohibiting the sale of e-cigareties lo minors is an important step in the right direction for an issue that deserves quick attention,”
said Rep. Joni Jenking, D-Shively. praducts of any kind shouid remain ofi-limits to Kenlucky's most precious resotirce —
our children. | am thankful for the bipartisan conversation about e-tigarette regulations, and look forward to continue mopitoring

this issua,”
The goal to reduce Kentucky's smoking rate by 10 percent over the next five years is one goal of Beshear's recently created inltlative, kyhealthnow, which alms to reduce Kentucky's
dismal health rankings and habits through goals and strategies related to seven areas that include obesity, cancer and heatth insurance.

The initiative’s oversight team conslsts of cabinet secretaries and key state agency officials, and Is chalred by Lt Gov. Jerry Abramson.

“Kentucky has a special incentive 1o enforce strong restrictions on minor access to tobacco products, given our high rates of smoking both among teens and adulls,” said Lt. Gov.
Abramson. “We hope this bl wlif prevent our young Kentuckians from frying e-cigareties and from moving on to traditional cigarettes as a result. One of the kyhealthnow Inlfative’s

key priorities is to change the state's culture so that smoking of any kind among young people Is not tolerated.”

http://www .lanereport.com/31010/2014/ 04/bill-banning-sale-of-e-cigarettes-to-kids-signed-i... 5/5/2014
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AN ACT relating to the sale of tobacco related products to minors and declaring an

emergency.
Be it enacted by the General Assembly of the Commonwealth of Kentucky:

=» Section 1. KRS 438.305 is améndcd to read as follows:;
As used in KRS 438.305 to 438.340, unless the context requires otherwise:

(1) (a) _"Alternative nicotine product"” means a noncombustible product containing

nicotine that is intended for human consumption, whether chewed,

absorbed, dissolved, or inpested by any other means.

(b) "Alternative nicotine product” does noft include any product regulated as a

drug or device by the United States Food and Drug Administration under

Chapter V of the Food, Drug, and Cosmetic Act:

(2) "Manufacturer" means any person who manufactures or produces tobacco products

within or without this Commonwealth;

GIDT  "Nonresident wholesaler" means any person who purchases cigarettes or other
tobacco products directly from the manufacturer and maintains a permanent
location or locations outside this state at which Kentucky cigarette tax evidence is
attached or from which Kentucky cigarette tax is reported and paid;

A3} "Proof of age" means a driver's license or other documentary or written
evidence that the individual is eighteen (18) years of age or older;

B)H}  "Resident wholesaler" means any person who purchases at least seventy-five
percent (75%) of all cigarettes or other tobacco products purchased by that person
directly from the cigarette manufacturer on which the cigarette tax provided for in
KRS 138.130 to 138.205 is unpaid, and who maintains an established place of

business in this state at which the person attaches cigarette tax evidence or receives

untaxed cigarettes;

(6)f5)F  "Sample" means a tobacco product, alfernative nicotine product, or vapor
product distributed to members of the general public at no cost;

Page 1 of 9
Engrossed

SB010920.100 - 982 - 7571
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"Subjobber" means any person who purchases tobacco products, on which the

Kentucky cigarette tax has been paid, from a wholesaler licensed pursuant to KRS

138.195, and makes them available to a retail establishment for resale; -}

8) (a)

"Tobacco product” means any cigarette, cigar, snuff. smokeless tobacco

%)

product, smoking tobacco, chewing tobacco, and any kind or form of

tfobacco prepared in a manner suitable for chewing or smoking, or both, or

any kind or form of fobacco that is suitable to be placed in a person's

mouth.

"Tobacco product” does not include any alternative nicotine product, vapor

) (a)

product, or product regulated as a drug or device by the United States Food

and Drug Administration under Chapter V_of the Food, Drug, and

Cosmeltic Act; and

"Vapor product” means any noncombustible product that employs a

(b)

heating element, battery, power source, electronic circuil, or other

electronic, chemical, or mechanical means, regardless of shape or size and

including the component parts and accessories thereto, that can be used to

deliver vaporized nicotine or other substances to users inhaling from the

device. "Vapor product” includes but is_not limited to any electronic

cigarette, electronic cigar, electronic cigarillo, electronic pipe, or similar

preduct or device and every variation thereof, regardless of whether

marketed as such, and any vapor cartridge or other container of a liguid

solution _or_other material that is intended to be used with or in an

electronic cigarette, electronic cigar, electronic cigarillo, electronic pipe, or

other similar product or device.

"Vapor product” does not include any product regulated as a drug or device

by the United States Food and Drug Administration under Chapter V of the

Food, Drug and Cosmetic Act.
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> Section 2. KRS 438.310 is amended to read as follows:

No person shall sell or cause to be sold any tobacco product, alfernative nicotine

product, or vapor product at retail to any person under the age of eighteen (18), or

solicit any person under the age of eighteen (18) to purchase any tobacco product,

alternative nicotine product, or vapor product at retail.

Any person who sells tobacco products, alfernative nicotine products, or vapor

products at retail shall cause to be posted in a conspicuous place in his
establishment a notice stating that it is illegal to sell tobacco products, alternative

nicotine products, or vapor products to persons under age eighteen (18).

Any person selling tobacco products, alfernative nicotine products, or vapor
products shall require proof of age from a prospective buyer or recipient if the
person has reason to believe that the prospective buyer or recipient is under the age
of eighteen (18).

A person who violates subsection (1) or (2) of this section shall be subject to a fine
of not less than one hundred dollars ($100) nor more than five hundred dollars
($500) for a first violation and a fine of not less than five hundred dollars ($500) nor
more than one thousand dollars ($1,000) for any subsequent violation. The fine
shall be administered by the Department of Alcoholic Beverage Control using a
civil enforcement procedure.

=»Section 3. KRS 438.311 is amended to read as follows:

Except for the provisions of KRS 438.330, it shall be unlawful for a person who has

not attained the age of eighteen (18) years to purchase or accept receipt of or to

attempt to purchase or accept receipt of a tobacco product, alternative nicotine

product, or vapor product, or to present or offer to any person any purported proof

of age which is false, fraudulent, or not actually his or her own, for the purpose of

purchasing or receiving any tobacco product, alfernative nicotine product, or vapor

reduct. It shall not be unlawful for such a person to accept receipt of a tobacco
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product, alternative nicotine product, or vapor product from a family member,

except if the child has been committed to the custody of the state under KRS
Chapters 600 to 645, or from an employer when rei]uired in the performance of the
person's duties.

Violation of this section shall be punishable by a fine of fifty dollars ($50) and _
twenty (20) hours of community service work for a first offense within a one (1)
year period, and a fine of two hundred dollars ($200) and forty (40) hours of
communify service work for a second or subsequent offense within a one (1) year

period.

This offense shall be deemed a status offense and shall be under the jurisdiction of
the juvenile session of the District Court.

All peace officers with general law enforcement authority and employees of the
Department of Alcoholic Beverage Control may issue a uniform citation, but not
make an arrest or take a child into custody, for a violation of this section. If a child
fails to appear in court in response to a uniform citation issued pursuant to the
section, the court may compel the attendance of the defendant in the manner
specified by law.

=»Section 4. KRS 438.313 is amended tfo read as follows:

No wholesaler, retailer, or manufacturer of cigarettes,f—or} tobacco products,

alternative_nicotine products, or vapor products may distribute cigarettes,f-ox}

tobacco products, alternative nicotine products, or vapor products, including

samples thereof, free of charge or otherwise, to any person under the age of eighteen

(18).

Any person who distributes cigarettes,f-es} tobacco products, alfernative nicotine

products, or vapor products, including samples thereof, free of charge or otherwise

shall require proof of age from a prospective buyer or recipient if the person has

reason to believe that the prospective purchaser or recipient is under the age of
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eighteen (18).

Any person who violates the provisions of this section shall be fined not less than

one thousand dollars ($1,000) nor more than two thousand five hundred dollars
($2,500) for each offense. The fine shall be administered by the Department of
Alcoﬁolic Beverage Control using a civil enforcement procedure for persons
eightéen (18) years of age or older. For persons under the age of eighteen (18) years,
the offense shall be deemed a status offense and shall be under the jurisdiction of
the juvenile session of the District Coﬁrt. |

All peace officers with general law enforcement authority and employees of the
Department of Alcoholic Beverage Control may issue a uniform citation, but may
not make an arrest, or take a child into custody, for a violation of this section. If a
child fails to appear in court in response to a uniform citation issued pursuant to this
section, the court may compel the attendance of the defendant in the manner
specified by law.

=»Section 5. KRS 438.315 is amended to read as follows:

The sale of tobacco products, alternative nicotine products, or vapor products

dispensed through a vending machine is prohibited to any person under the age of

eighteen (18) years.

The purchase of tobacco products, alfernative nicotine products, or vapor products

dispensed through a vending machine is prohibited to any person under the age of

_eighteen (18) years.

Except for vending machines located in factories or vending machines located in

bars or taverns to which minors are not permitted access,[-beginning-ene—(1)-year

after July-15;-1994;1 any vending machine from which tobacco products, alfernative

nicotine products, or vapor products are dispensed shall be located in the line of

sight of the cashier for the retail establishment.
Any owner of a retail establishment violating this section shall be subject to a fine
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of not less than one hundred dollars ($100) nor more than five hundred dollars
($500) for each violation. The fine shall be administered by the Department of
Alcoholic Beverage Control using a civil enforcement procedure for persons
eighteen (18) years of age or older. For persons under the age of eighteen (18) years,
the offense shall be deemed a status offense and shall be under the jurisdiction of
the juvenile session of the District Court.

All peace officers with general law enforcement authority and employees of the
Department of Alcoholic Beverage Control may issue a uniform citation, but may
not make an arrest, or take a child into custody, for a violation of this section. If &
child fails to appear in court in response to a uniform citation issued pursuant to this
section, the court may compel the attendance of the defendant in the manner
specified by law.

= Section 6. KRS 438.325 is amended to read as follows:

Each owner of a retail establishment selling or distributing tobacco products,

alternative nicotine products, or vapor products shall notify each individual

employed in the retail establishment as a retail sales clerk that the sale of tobacco

products, alternative nicotine products, or vapor products to any person under the

age of eighteen (18) years and the purchase of tobacco products, alternative

nicotine products, or vapor preducts by any person under the age of eighteen (18)

years isfare} prohibited. _
Each owner of a retail establishment selling or distributing tobacco products,

alternative nicotine products, or vapor products shall notify each individual

employed in the retail establishment as a retail sales clerk that proof of age is
required from a prospective buyer or recipient if the person has reason to believe
that the prospective pur-chaser or recipient is under the age of eighteen (18).

The notice to employees that is required in subsection (1) of this section shall be

provided before the person commences work as a retail sales clerk, or, in the case of
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a person employed as a retail sales clerk on the effective date of this Act fFaly15;
19943, within thirty (30) days of that date. The employee shall signify receipt of the

notice required by this section by signing a form that states as follows:

. "Tunderstand that under the law of the Commonwealth of Kentucky it is illegal to

sell or distribute tobacco products, alfernative nicotine products, or vapor products
to persons under the age of eighteen (18) years and that it is illegal for persons
under the age of eighteen (18) years to purchase tobacco products, alternative

nicotine products, or vapor products."

(4) The owner of the retail establishment shall maintain the signed notice that is
required pursuant to subsection (3) of this section in a place and in a manner so as
to be easily accessible to any ermployee of the Department of Alcoholic Beverage
Control or the Department of Agriculture conducting an inspection of the retaii
establishment for the purpose of monitoring compliance in limiting the sale or

distribution of tobacco products, alfernative nicotine products, or vapor products

to persons under the age of eighteen (18) as provided in KRS 438.305 to 438.340.

(5) Any owner of the retail establishment violating subsections (1) to (4) of this section -
shall be subject to a fine of not less than one hundred dollars ($100) nor more than
five hundred dollars ($500) for each violation. The fine shall be administered by the
Department of AIcohélic Beverage Control in a civil enforcement procedure.
>Section 7. KRS 438.330 is amended to read as follows:

(1) The Department of Alcoholic Beverage Control and the Department of Agriculture
shall carry out annually-conducted random, unannounced inspections of retail

establishments where tobacco products, alternative nicotine products, or vapor

products are sold or distributed for the purpose of enforcing the provisions of KRS
438.305 to 438.340. The inspections shall be conducted to the extent necessary to
assure that the Commonwealth remains in compliance with Public Law 102-321

and applicable federal regulations. The Department of Alcoholic Beverage Control
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and the Department of Agriculture shall also ensure that targeted inspections are
conducted at those retail establishments where, and at those times when, persons
under the age of eighteen (18) years are most likely to purchase tobacco products,

alfernative nicotine products, or vapor products. Persons under the age of eighteen

(18) years may be used to test compliance with the provisions of KRS 438.305 to
438.340 only if the testing is conducted under the direct supervision of the
Department of Alcoholic Beverage Control, sheriff, or chief of police, or their
employees, and written parental -consent has been obtained. The Department of
Alcoholic Beverage Control shall prepare annually, for submission by the Governor
to the Secretary of the United States Department of Health and Human Services, the
report required by Section 1926 of Subpart 1 of Part B of Title XIX of the Federal
Public Health Service Act. _

(2) The Department of Alcoholic Beverage Control shall develop and implement the
survey sampling methodologies to carry out the inspections as described in this
section.
= Section 8. KRS 438.335 is amended to read as follows:

The Department of Agriculture shall carry out the provisions of KRS 438.305 to 438.340

as they relate to educating the public and sellers of tobacco products, alternative nicotine

products, or vapor products about provisions and penalties of KRS 438.305 to 438.340.

The Department of Agriculture shall be entitled to the revenue produced by one-twentieth
of one cent ($0.0005) of the three-cent ($0.03) per pack revenue collected by the
Department of Revenue from the state excise tax on the sale of cigarettes as imposed by
KRS 138.140 and to keep fifty percent (50%) of any fines collected under KRS 438.305
to 438.340 to offset the costs of these education efforts.

= Section 9. KRS 438.350 is amended to read as follows:
(1) No person under the age of eighteen (18) shall possess or use tobacco products,

alternative nicotine products, or vapor products.
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(2) Any tobacco product, alternative nicotine product, or vapor product found in the
possession of a person under the age of eighteen (18) and in plain view of the law
enforcement officer shall be confiscated by the law enforcement officer making the

charge.

(3) This section shall not apply to persons exempted as provided by KRS 438.311 and

438.330.

(4) The ferms "alternative mnicotine product,” "fobacco product,”" and 'vapor

product,” shall have the same meaning as in Section 1 of this Act.

=»Section 10. Whereas it is incumbent upon the Commonwealth of Kentucky to _
protect the health, safety, and welfare of the young people living within its borders, an
emergency is declared to exist, and this Act takes effect upon its passage and approval by

the Governor or upon its otherwise becoming a law.
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